Photo by Frank Micelotta/Getty Images

5 Guitar Innovators That Should Receive The Ahmet Ertegun Award

Most music lovers are familiar with the performers that get inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but few are aware of the Rock Hall’s Ahmet Ertegun Award.

This special distinction named after the legendary Atlantic Records founder is given to non-performers ranging from DJs, record executives, producers and everywhere in between.  Notable recipients include Leonard Chess, Dick Clark, Leo Fender and many more.

In honor of “Guitar Month,” we recognize five guitar innovators we think should be considered for the award in the future thanks to their contribution to music.

Jim Marshall

Can you imagine rock and roll without the iconic Marshall Amp?  Neither can we!  Plenty of Rock Hall member owe this inventor a huge debt.

Marshall amplifier is seen onstage during Drive Like Jehu performance during day 2 of the 2015 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival . (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images)